A new Chairman And Members Of ICPC sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari

The Chairman and members of the newly constituted Board of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission, ICPC, was sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari today. 

Professor Bolaji Owasanoye takes charge as the new Chairman of ICPC, which has eight other Nigerians drawn from different parts of the country as members.

During the inauguration of the new ICPC board, held today, the 4th of February, at Aso Rock Villa, Abuja, Mr. President charged members of the Commission to come up with sound policy recommendations that would help his administration in tackling corruption.

The President, who said his administration’s fight against corruption remains unwavering, regretted that the illicit practice has caused severe damage to Nigeria’s economy as well as eroded the laudable values that underlay the country’s existence.

Describing the laws setting up the ICPC as robust enough to effectively tackle corruption, President Buhari challenged the newly inaugurated Board of the anti-graft agency to beam its searchlight on government agencies that fail to account for revenues they generate and expand.

The new Chairman of ICPC, Professor Owanasoye, thanked the President for the opportunity, saying he and his colleagues are privileged to be called to serve under an administration with zero tolerance for corruption.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.